valerie

valerie

January 26, 2022 - concluding the ‘Half Price Books series’ with something I actually bought. This is a Chinese book called 酥油 (Ghee) by 江觉迟. I was drawn to the book by the cover art and also the fact that there’s another language on it below the title (based on context I assume it’s Tibetan, but I haven’t verified that). The introduction was interesting. The author originally intended to write a memoir/autobiographical account of her experience living in Tibet, but felt that she could only convey what she wanted through a fictional story. What I gathered from the one random page of the story that I read is that a character (the main character?) wants to leave Tibet for better paying work opportunities, but doesn’t know any Mandarin Chinese. Not exactly sure when I will focus on reading this book, but I am excited for it